What's new

Continuing Schooling: Yes Or No?

blurinoctober

New Talker
PF Member
Reaction score
There is a lot of pressure to continue schooling after high school. Do you agree with this pressure, did you continue your schooling? If so, how far did you go? Standard four years, even longer?

I am wondering because I was told my entire high school career, and for a full year after I graduated, that I was "the smart one" and that I needed to go to college. That I wouldn't be happy otherwise. I've been out of school for two years now and I haven't made any sort of effort to continue schooling, I have no interest to. I hear quite often that it's a poor decision to make but, hey, I'm doing life my own way.

Are you like this as well or did formal school benefit you? Any college horror stories?

Well, I finished secondary school at sixteen, and went straight on to college until age nineteen. Five years on, and I have done nothing pertaining to the qualifications I earned in college. So to me, college was a pure and simple waste of time.

Personally, I don't think college is a neccesity.
Sure, it helps when you apply for a job, but you're not going to start working in the field of your major right after college. In fact, you may not even get a job right after college.
Mots people who go to college right after high school don't even know what they want to do, so they end up wasting four years of their lives only to switch majors or to leave college still not knowing what they want to do.

I think people should just go to college, take their electives and then if they know what they want to major in, they should go for it. If they don't, they should probably take a few months off, or a year off to get a job, earn up some money to pay off the student loan and then go back to school when they know what they want to do.

it depends on where you want to go in life really