What's new

High School AP Classes and Exams - are they worth it?

B

boyzrus

I've been hearing mixed reviews about the AP level classes in high school. Some people say that it's a good deal to pay $89 to take the test because it might transfer to college.

Others are saying that the risk is too high that your kid will score poorly, so they don't recommend taking them.

I have a sophomore who is very smart and I'm going to have him take the exam for U.S. History, but I was confused on the comments.

Moms with older kids, can you explain this to me?

Thanks so much!

It helps to look at the scores that schools your child is interested in will accept for credit.

Back when I graduated in 96 my college took a decent number of exams as credit. I entered Northwestern one credit short of being a sophomore. I graduated two quarters early, saving $20K. My sis just started at American this year and shaved a full semester off her credits.

He's a sophomore, so there aren't any schools on the horizon at this time.

I just found it funny that people said it would work against you if you didn't score high enough on the AP exam.

My twins are both taking AP classes because even in honors they where completely unchallenged. They like to be challenged and I like the fact that that the college credits are cheap!

My DD did really well in the class, but failed the AP exam. I'm not sure how that is even possible. DD is a great student, but not a great test taker. If you think your kids will ace the exam then go for it!

My DD did really well in the class, but failed the AP exam. I'm not sure how that is even possible. DD is a great student, but not a great test taker. If you think your kids will ace the exam then go for it!

My DD are super bright but completely suck at test taking. They will be attending tutoring classes at 6 am in April to prepare them for the AP exams.