What's new

My problem with needing experience to get almost any job!

TiffanyMatth

New Talker
PF Member
Reaction score
Here's something that has bothered me since my first job search; having experience being a consequential aspect of getting a job. Maybe it isn't a big problem where you live, but finding a job in my city without experience is close too impossible.

I handed out close to 50 resumes in a month trying to get myself a part-time job, I did the suggested ask for the manager, smile, and ask when you can expect to hear back from them after giving your r?sum?, but no luck! My brother handed out a few resumes and got an interview from every single place (even ones I had applied to, while he has a criminal record and I don't)!

Everyone I asked about it said the same thing; you need experience. I don't understand how you're expected to have experience without any employer giving you a chance! It wasn't like I was trying to score a job as a manager, I was just trying to get myself a simple cashier or retail associate position.

Does my opinion conflict with yours? If so, why? Also, do you have any advice for those looking for their first jobs?

I have the same issue. I lost my job back in October, and since then I've applied to easily 200 jobs. The few that have contacted me have done so only to say I require experience. Apparently five years in retail isn't considered valid experience for most of the jobs I've been applying for, despite them also being in the retail sector. In fact, the only jobs I've been given a fair shot at are jobs that are upper-level. IT support, carer positions, and an apprenticeship as a science lab technician. Everything else, even basic retail, I've been ignored for. It's really putting a downer on the whole desire to find a job.